Ermatinger Clergue National Historic Site
by Judi “Scoop” McWilliams
It was a long drive to Sault Ste. Marie, but it was worth it!
We had been promising some friends that we would visit them and the city.
One of the shops we wanted to make was to the Ermatinger Clergue National Historic Site.
Our friend, Kathy Fisher, Curator of the Site, had told us what a great the Ermatinger Clergue Site was.
Ermatinger Clergue is an amazing historical site.
A few years ago an interactive Heritage Discover Centre was built.
The Discovery Centre was an “1812 Legacy Gallery” project and “pays tribute to both the War of 1812 and Charles Oakes Ermatinger who helped to gather the troops that launched the first battle of the war, the British capture of Fort Michilimackinac“.
The Discovery Centre has a great The Post Gift Shop that gives visitors a chance to bring home a “bit” of “Canadian history“!
It was wonderful to see Kathy (Fisher) again and were looking forward to a tour of the Site.
Our first visit was to the Ermatinger Old Stone House.
Kathy and her son, , had planned a big “surprise” for Gary and me.
Benn is a War of 1812 re-enactor. We had met in Wasaga Beach at the annual Wasaga Under Siege. Benn and his friends honoured us by putting on a “drumming and musket shooting” demonstration!
After Benn and friends demonstration, we entered the “Old Stone House“.
The “House” has been fully restored and “depicts the domestic and professional life of Charles Oakes Ermatinger, as well as other respected residents who lived in the House between 1808 and 1896“.
While we were there, site staff were preparing for an upcoming dinner and presentation.
It was fascinating to look outside from one of the House’s windows to see the “modern” landscape of Sault Ste. Marie!
From the Ermatinger Old Stone House, Kathy took us to Clergue Blockhouse.
The Clergue Blockhouse was “relocated to the Site in 1996“. It had “served as the home of industrialist Francis Hector Clergue from 1894 – 1908“.
According to the Site’s website, “The lower stone story of the Blockhouse dates back to 1819, making it the second oldest stone building northwest of Toronto“.
The Ermatinger Clergue gardens were impressive!
The Blockhouse looked amazingly comfortable!
The inside of the upper room was warm and inviting.
Back outside we took a closer look at each of the two “Heritage” buildings.
The Ermatinger Old Stone House, with its beauty and grandeur!
The Clergue Blockhouse, with its uniqueness and comfort!
An awesome way to celebrate Sault Ste. Marie’s heritage and Canadian history!